Sustainable Dharma

Finding Dharma in a Sustainable Lifestyle

Homemade Cleaners: Cleaning Wipes

I am a frugal woman. This is not just out of need, but nature too.

So I decided to start making my own cleaners. It is super cheap to do really easy!

First I started by cutting up some old flannel PJ pants.

 

I’m still sad there was a big ole rip in the butt 😦

I was going to cut them into 10×10 squares, but then I was like, “Eh this is flannel, just rip it squareishly.”

I made like 30 of these from a few pairs or old PJs. I made 3 groups of rages. I took 10 and rolled them up and put them in the dispenser. I wanted like a center pull type thing. I later regretted that and do not recommend it unless you know what you are doing. I apparently did not know, so I will have to rethink it. It is not as easy as people make it look. So just cram them in each dispenser. I left 10 out to use to dry things up after. My cleaning towels have recently started dispersing.

Pour the cleaner over the rags and let it soak up. When I use them I ring out the extra water back into the container. I have a bucket I keep dirty rags in, so when I am done cleaning, I just toss the rags in there. When I run low I just wash them all, and replace them in the jars. When things start to run dry I just need to mix new cleaner.

Then I made my two types of cleaning mixes.

Pine Cleaner

I started with the pine ones. I live in Texas and no matter how clean your house is, it is hard to keep the bugs out. It’s  even harder when you have kids and pets.

Something I learned a long time ago is that bugs HATE pine or citrus oil. If you use either to clean with regularly it helps keep the bugs away. I prefer to use a pine cleaner, but this works with lemon, orange or other oil based cleaners too.

The important thing is to make sure that what you are using is not just pine (or citrus)  scented, but has the oils in it too. I read labels on everything! Pine-Sol has real oil and so does Orange Clean, but so do many of the store brands. I just buy the cheapest thing with real oil.

I use these to wipe down wood about once a month, and I clean the counters with it to keep bugs away. If you make them the right size you can use them to clean your floors with a swiffer too. (I totally do that)

  • 1/3 c Pine (or Citrus) cleaner
  • 2 C water

Costs:

Rags ($0 if you use old clothing)

Pine Cleaner ($1 for store brand)

Final cost: .25 cents because I maybe used 1/4 of the bottle

I only made 10 but there is enough cleaner that I could easily just keep replacing rags for a while before needing to make more. I honestly don’t know how many uses I will get out of one jar.

Well I can’t use these for everything I need to clean.

I need to

 

So for everything else:

  • 2 cups warm water
  • 2 tablespoons white vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons dish soap

By the way, these wipes ROCK!!! I find I need to change wipes more with these than the pine ones. The mix of vinegar and dish soap really cut through the grime a home can accumulate. I cleaned the fridge, all of the doors, and doorknobs. These are good for wiping the stove or microwave down too.

Costs:

Rags ($0 if you use old clothing)

Dish soap: ( .25 cents for the whole bottle with coupons)

Vinegar: ( $1 for the whole bottle of the store brand)

Final costs: Uhmmm Ridiculously cheap. I don’t feel like mathing  2 tablespoons of vinegar and dish soap

I am going to be testing some glass cleaning ones soon too. I have to empty the container of store bought ones I have first.

If you have any favorite Cleaning Wipe mixes, let me know!

3 comments on “Homemade Cleaners: Cleaning Wipes

  1. Elizabeth Hogan
    January 11, 2015

    My favorite cleaning solution is with oranges, limes and lemons, they really cut through grease.

    1/4 cup water
    1 orange cut into slices
    1 lime cut into slices
    1 lemon cut into slices and use the zest as well
    1/2 cup white vinegar
    You can put them in a mason jar and let them sit for 4 weeks, shaking it every day, then transfer to rags or a spray bottle super heavy duty de greaser and toilet and faucet cleaner.
    Or you can do what I do, put them in a glass bowl and in the microwave for 2 mins. And it super cleans your microwave…
    You can boil it too on the stove top for 15 mins… let it cool and use it up. Spray or wipes 🙂 and it smells really good.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sustainable Dharma
    January 12, 2015

    I have done that before and I love that too! I used just lemons, but pretty much the same. I use it on my pets to keep fleas off too. Also if you make lemon vinegar with a mother, that is an amazing cleaner, and it is good for your insides too!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Homemade Cleaners: Oxygen Laundry Booster and Carpet Fresh | Sustainable Dharma

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 10, 2015 by in Cleaning, Sustainable Living and tagged , .
