Sustainable Dharma

Finding Dharma in a Sustainable Lifestyle

Homemade Cleaners: Laundry Soap

I looked around online for recipes, and I found a really interesting article that compared a store bought laundry detergent to popular recipes online. Which homemade laundry detergent recipe is best?

After reading this page along with a BUNCH of other blogs I went with the best recipe from that post.  I am including my personal notes as well.

  • 1/2 cup Borax
  • 1 cup washing soda
  • 1 bar of soap (grated) They say Fels-Naptha soap but I used Ivory. I read any soap will work but to be mindful of what is in that soap.
  • a soap pan (pan you don’t care about) and whisk
  • 3 gallons of water
  • 5 gallon bucket with a lid
  • In the soap pan bring some water to boil. While you are waiting for it to boil, fill your bucket with 3 gallons of clean water. (Make sure the bucket is clean too.)

Ninja Kitty decided to “help,” because he likes to play in water.

  • After the water reaches a full boil, reduce the heat. If the soap boils is will make a big mess that is not easy to clean.
  • Add the borax and washing soda. Use a whisk to mix these. Make sure they are completely dissolved. Washing soda does not mix well. It clumps pretty badly I’ve learned. If it does not get mixed well, it will clump at the top and be hard to mix in later.
  • Slowly add the grated soap to the water. I have tried mixing with a spoon, but I find a slow mix with the whisk to be better. The soap will get super foamy, and it is really hard to see how well it is mixed. Only add a little at a time.
  • Once it is fully melted add the soap mix to the bucket with the water, and mix it up really good.

  • I mixed it with my arms. I really didn’t have anything else that would work. Put the lid on it and store it for 24 hours.
  • The next day, open the lid, if you have a layer of washing soda on top, scoop it out with some of the water and heat it up in the soap pan. Mix on a low heat with the whisk. Add it back to the bucket, and mix again.
  • Pour it into old laundry bottles and shack it up really good. You should shake it up before using it.

To Use:

Use one cup of laundry soap for a full load. I always used the lid to measure out my laundry soap, but I never knew how much that was. I learned that the Sun brand one (my old favorite brand) measures out to a half of a cup.  I always add my soap to the water as it fills. I am not sure how important this is with this soap.

Don’t forget to shake it up before every use.

3 comments on “Homemade Cleaners: Laundry Soap

  1. authorangelachristinaarcher
    February 16, 2015

    Thanks for this recipe. I’ve been searching for one myself, but non of them seem quite as easy as this one. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

