Sustainable Dharma

Finding Dharma in a Sustainable Lifestyle

Mini Monkey Breads!

I love Monkey Bread, and I wanted to make some for my kids during the recent snow storm. As weird as this may sound I have issues with not having a bunt pan. I don’t make monkey bread because my bunt pan was stolen. (Who steals a bunt pan????)

So I decided I can live with monkey bread made in a cupcake pan… I found this recipe from The Kitchen Magpie. I am really happy with this recipe, but I admit I kinda lazied through this. I was out of raisins still from the hot cross buns, and I even though I am in Texas, I am somehow out of pecans. These things are not required for Monkey Bread, but they really do add something to it. I suggest you use those if you have them!

How I made mine:

  • 2/3 c water and 2/3 c cream (warmed up)
  • 1 tablespoon instant yeast
  • 2 tablespoons butter (melted)
  • 3-4 cups of flour
  • 1/4 c granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp salt

The Coating:

  • 1 c brown sugar
  • 2 tea cinnamon and 2 tea granulated sugar mixed
  • 1/2 c melted butter

I do all of my yeast breads pretty much the same way.

  • In a large measuring cup, I heat the liquids until they are just above body temp. I add the yeast and maybe a pinch of sugar and leave it alone while I start with the dry.
  • In a large bowl I add the dry ingredients; sifted and lightly mixed.
  • Oil a large glass bowl and set aside.
  • After this I check the yeast, and add the butter to the liquids. (I always add the oil to the yeast mix because it seems to mix better)
  • Mix the wet with the dry.
  • Stir until stiff and then mix with my hands. Once mixed I knead until it is nice and elastic feeling.
  • Put the dough in the glass bowl, and flip it over. Place on top of a warm stove and let it rise. It should at least double in size but check it by poking it. If it is still firm let it keep rising until it is kinda soft and bounces back.
  • Carefully push it down and knead the dough, removing all of the gas. Form back into a ball, and put back into the bowl. Let it rise again (It should need about half of the time as the first.)
  • Push the gas out again, kneading it again, and form into little balls.

  • Roll the little dough balls into nice balls, and dip in the butter, and then roll into the sugar cinnamon sugar mix.
  • Once nicely coated add them to the the cupcake pan. I fit 3 to 4 in each cupcake portion. I had left over butter and sugar so I mixed it all up and poured it into them.
  • Let them rise again.
  • Bake at 350 until done. I think it was about 20 mins for me.
  • Eat as is, or drizzle with glaze, or honey. Maple is pretty good too!
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 5, 2015 by in Recipe and tagged , , , .
