Sustainable Dharma

Finding Dharma in a Sustainable Lifestyle

Sustainable Cleaning: Homemade Deodorant and Toothpaste

My journey homemade toothpaste:

So a while back I decided to I didn’t want to use “store” toothpaste anymore.

When I was a kid my mom’s best friend told me she did not use toothpaste. She had a little container she kept baking soda in and used that to clean her teeth. When she felt she needed more she would add hydrogen peroxide.

I did this over a month, and my teeth were very clean and looked healthier. My mouth felt clean enough but after a while it just wasn’t enough.

I started oil pulling again, but I really didn’t need to since the baking soda was making my teeth white enough. I am standing in the kitchen one morning, swishing oil around in my mouth waiting for the coffee to brew. I found myself wishing I could combine oil pulling, and toothpaste…

Then I was struck by a “duh” moment…

So I took that baking soda, scooped in some coconut oil and mixed everything up into a paste and added a few drops of peppermint essential oil. I did not make a whole lot at first because I didn’t know if I would like it.

Well I did! In fact I LOVE it!

Toothpaste Recipe

  • 1 Tablespoon baking soda
  • 2 Tablespoons coconut Oil
  • 3 drops of Peppermint Essential Oil

This is for a small batch. It is easy to make extra if you need.

This lead me to deodorant:

Anyone who has reads this blog knows I have been avoiding deodorant because of aluminum. I have been doing detoxes, drinking lots of lemon water, and no processed foods means the BO is not too bad. Some days I don’t like to go in public. If I had to work a long day at work that meant I had to wear deodorant and deal with a painful detox later.

One day I was off work, and I had showered in the morning. By noon I was starting to smell. (Yay Texas heat!) I REALLY didn’t want to take a second shower. I was standing there brushing my teeth. Suddenly I remembered baking soda is a deodorizer and coconut oil is antibacterial. So I used some of my “toothpaste” as a deodorant.

The mint gave me some energy and the slight BO was gone instantly!

Coconut oil has a low melting point. The moment it hits skin it melts. With the baking soda it made a nice “lotion.”

I decided deodorant lotion is kinda nice.

Deodorant Lotion recipe:

  • 1 Tablespoon baking soda
  • 2 Tablespoons coconut oil
  • 3 drops any essential oil

Need energy? Use Peppermint, or Citrus Fresh

Want to relax? Try Lavender

Experiment with any of the oils! They all have their benefits!

I have been using my deodorant lotion for about a month now. I am never going back to store bought!

Please note: Baking soda helps with detoxing. Detoxing can be painful. I found after about 3 days I got a mild irritation. I stopped using it but after a couple of days of just no deodorant the irritation went away. I have not had it since. I am pretty sure this was just my body detoxing some. My boyfriend started using it the other day and he got irritation the first time. It feels like when I did my first big detox, but to a minor degree. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

